Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

1982 Brake Caliper

82RL

Corvette
2000 LT. Pewter Coupe
I am going to replace the right front brake caliper on my 82. This is my first time to do this. Is there any little secrets I should know.

If it broke due to age or for no aparent reason I would give serious thought to replacing both front calipers. Although the right front does take the biggest load of the four during braking.

The other caliper was replaced about 2 months ago by a mechanic who was doing some other stuff for me. This is the first time I have changed one. It does not look complicated , just wanted to make sure there wasn't any little surprises. Thanks for the reply.

It is not difficult just take your time. After the wheel is off it should only take about an hour. The biggest headache is keeping things clean and bleeding the brakes.:beer

82RL,

Make sure you have a tubing wrench(and some penetrating oil) when you go to remove the steel brake line from the hose. This is the first step after removing the wheel. These want to round over real easy even with a tubing wrench and are often difficult to get started. Have a plastic baggie and a rubber band handy to seal off the end of the brake line after you remove it. This helps keep some of the fluid in the line(cuts down on bleeding) and keeps any contamination out. Next remove the horse shoe clip that keeps the hose in place, THEN remove the bolts that hold the caliper. Check your hose closely for cracks, replace it if any are seen.

So he would have to drain all of the brake-fluid first? And then he would put on the caliper? By what means would he put the brake fluid back into the system?

TR

Changed the caliper last night every thing went well. It took forever to bleed the line and get all the air out. Is this normal or is ther a trick to it. I am going to put on a new hose and brake pads on the other side Saturday.

82RL,