Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

1st time on a dyno...

Corvette
Blk/Blk '96 LT4 Coupe
The local Vette club is hosting a dyno-day this weekend. As my car is pretty much where I want it to be, it's time for me to get it dynoed. I'd like to have a bit of a heads up on the process beforehand so would someone pls inform this noob as to what goes on there. I've seen the machine but I'm curious about what final gear you're in, rpm ranges & any tips that may be helpful.

Thx in advance,
Jeff

I'm no dyno expert. But I believe you generally want the gearbox in the 1:1 gear as it will have a bit less driveline loss. That would be 4th gear on a 6-speed, or 3rd gear on an auto.

I wonder if you can drive the car yourself or if you have to have the dyno operator do it. I'm generally not keen on people driving my car. :)

Have fun!

When I had my ex-92 dynoed, the tech drove it onto the dyno and parked with the rear tires on the rollers. They strapped it down to keep it from moving like tying it down on a trailer. The tech put a fan in front of the car to blow air on the radiator.
We talked about the gear ratios as he wanted to use the closest gear to 1:1 which is 4th on the 6-speed manual.
He asked about max RPM I wanted tested - I wanted 6000.
He hooked up the wires and started it up with the rollers free to move. He started in 1st to get the rollers up to speed and shifted up to 4th. He let the RPM stabilize near 1500 RPM and told the computer that he was ready to test. At that point the dyno started loading the rollers and he pressed the gas bring the motor smoothly up to 6000 RPM before letting off.
After a short cool down, he did it again.
Another cool down and he did it again.
I got a print out of all three curves and my car got a little better with each run. Maybe the plugs cleaned up some with each run!