Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Bose in an 89' Coupe

jfcupolo

Corvette
1994 Dark Red Coupe - Automatic
I may be sorry I am asking this only because I'm a pretty good mechanic but I HATE dealing with sound systems. But, here goes. I have an issue I have been putting off fixing for a while. The problem is that my stereo system works fine but in constanly crackles and then either one side (left or right I can't tell) or maybe it's a speaker drops out. The problem happens all the time and since I am running an exhaust system without mufflers or cats I would rather hear the engine anyway. But I do want to fix it. The point is I don't know jack s#@t about stereos and I don't really want to try a lot of trial and error. I'm hoping this problem sounds common because all the parts that could possibly be replaced are so damn expensive.

Help me oby-wan-kanobe, you're my only hope.....

There are many posts about this issue, try doing a search for more information. In a nutshell, if you still have the stock bose stereo system, each of the 4 speakers in the c4 bose is individually amplified. Each speaker is combined with its own little amplifier in a miniature subwoofer-type ported plastic box, two in the doors, two in the rear cargo area. These are 2-ohm speakers that won't work with any other stereo.

The printed circuit boards in the amplifiers contain components that wear out over time, causing whining, popping, crackling. If you're keen on keeping your car all original, you can send the amps to Dr. Dons (do an internet search) to have them refurbished. I think it's $75 per amp, not sure, but you should do all four. It is very much a pain to remove the door speaker boxes.