Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Buying 1st vette

ramace1

Corvette
1995 Torch Red Coupe
Hi all, I am new to the CAC, my name is Randy, I live in North Carolina and am finally in a position to purchase my first corvette. I have been offered a 1995 ZR-1 LT5 for 15k. It has 64k miles, comes with 3 tops, auto tran, owner says it has never seen rain, always garage kept.
Since I am new to corvettes I need some tips as what to look for to make sure
I'm not getting ripped off. Is this a good price? Thanks

There are no auto-trans ZR-1s. So there is something wrong with the information you've been given.

Are you sure it isn't just a 1995 coupe with ZR-1 wheels?

Also, Corvette coupes could be had with one top or two. Standard was a painted top, optional was an acrylic tinted clear top that replaced the painted top, and extra optional was the painted top and an acrylic tinted clear top. The acrylics could usually be had in 2 different tints, so you could have three distinct tops. But only one or two would have been original equipment and the rest would have been purchased later. What are the differences in the three tops the car has?

He told me it had a hard top, a smoke top and a clear top. Also he didn't say ZR-1 but he did say it was a LT5 engine, and I assumed since it had the LT5 engine that it was a ZR-1. What I've read indicates that LT5 engines were exclusive to ZR-1s.
Thanks

The LT5 is exclusive to the ZR-1. But none were ever mated up to an automatic transmission in a production car. Perhaps he has an LT1 and was confused?

Do you have a link to the ad?

It just seems unlikely that this car is a ZR-1. If it were, $15,000 would be very cheap for a 64k 1995 ZR-1 in good shape. :w