Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

C4 headlight question?

gkurtz

Corvette
92 Bright Red Convertable
Im in the middle of rebuilding my headlight motors and when taking it apart a small silver ball came out. I didnt see where it came from. Thought maybe from behind the motor set screw which I backed out to loosen the worm gear. Thanks

Sorry, I have nothing in my book that details the motor rebuild, so I don't have a schematic to see what it could be, and I have never rebuilt the headlamp motors so I have no personal experience. Others here have rebuilt them though, and I'm sure someone will step forward and clue us in. :CAC

Ken said:
Sorry, I have nothing in my book that details the motor rebuild, so I don't have a schematic to see what it could be, and I have never rebuilt the headlamp motors so I have no personal experience. Others here have rebuilt them though, and I'm sure someone will step forward and clue us in. :CAC
Thank for looking. After carefully looking at the assembly I was right. The ball sit right behind the motor shaft/worm gear. There is a cutout in the shaft end that the ball sits in and is kept in place when contacted by the tensioning screw on the back of the motor. Hope this helps someone else. I coudnt find any threads that addressed this

headlamp motor rebuild

gkurtz said:
Im in the middle of rebuilding my headlight motors and when taking it apart a small silver ball came out. I didnt see where it came from. Thought maybe from behind the motor set screw which I backed out to loosen the worm gear. Thanks