Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Help! Changing a C-5 battery

Some auto chargers specifically list being compatible with gel batteries, this leads me to belief there might be something between how the gel and acid battery takes charge. I'm no expert but I know deep cycle is very different than regular starting battery and has different charging needs. Could it be your charger is not designed to work with gel battery? Why would some chargers list gel if there was no difference?

Duralast here, going on 5 yrs. in my 11 yr. old C5.

Just thought I would chime on on the battery issue. I changed mine a few years back and I too am a stickler for staying with original equipment replacement as much as possible so I installed a DELCO. I never had any issues with any memory but I did as a precautionary measure use a battery back-up device that you plug into the cigarette lighter receptical that uses a 9 volt battery to maintain the pre-set channels and etc just in case; didn't know for sure it was necessary but better to be save than sorry I thought ;shrug

Oh yeah; WINTER SUCKS :ugh

Bill :w

I had many battery related problems before changing out the posts. Some say that the stock battery post are too long for aftermarket batteries and the negative post does not maintain a good contact because of this. Bought new posts ($3.xx) for a pair at your local parts shop and saw they were the same length as the stock post. Took a file to the post and filed them down a bit to were the ends were falt and not rounded. Installed them and seemed to work for awhile then determined that through all of this with the battery not charging it eventually killed the battery. So bought a new Orbital and no more problems. Was the battery the orginal culprit, or was it not having a good contact?? Oh well. Its fixed...for now.:D

easy to change.
get one of those 9v battery connectors for the cigarette lighter and be quick.

Killain,