Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Detailing questions

golfjpc

Corvette
2014 Premier Edition Lime Rock Green
I'm new to CAC and have several detailing questions. My car is a 95 white roadster with 25k miles. The eninge compartment needs some cleaning up - nothing major, just dirt and grime. I want to be able to show the car but not "concourse" condition.

First, what should I use to clean rubber hoses and front wheel wells, etc? Basically, I want to clean off everything under the hood. Second, what should I use for cleaning/moisturizing all weatherstrips of the car? Third, my white convertible top has some greasy looking areas - not as white as it could be. Any suggestions?

Appreciate any suggestions - Thanks - Later, JPC

Hi golfjpc,

First of all, welcome to the Corvette Action Center!! You're sure in the right place!

Secondly, although Hubby and I show our two Corvettes regularly, we do not "detail" the engines, per se. I know others do so I know they'll jump in with suggestions for you. On the weatherstripping, we use 303 Aerospace Protectant for protection against damaging UV rays, plus it leaves a very nice sheen to vinyl and rubber. We're very happy with it and highly recommend this for a lot of detailing.

If you have a white vinyl top, I think you'll benefit from using plain old household cleaner, Soft Scrub with Bleach! Yeah...nothing more complicated than that!! We use it regularly on our two white tops when they need a bit of perking up. Wet roof, apply Soft Scrub and scrub with a brush. I leave it on for a little while if the top is particularly dingy. One suggestion...be sure to thoroughly rinse car after applying Soft Scrub which, when it dries, can leave fine white powder in grooves. Doesn't damage the car but should be rinsed off. Repeat as needed.

Again, welcome!!

Elaine

welcome to CAC.