Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Help on Holley dates

mcditalia

Corvette
1966 convertible, 327 L79
I'm still learning here so bear with me.

What is a "service dated" carb? The link below has a 66 holley application (#3367) that would suit my needs but not sure of the service date code of 3482.

Click here: eBay Motors: 1966 CORVETTE NOS HOLLEY LIST 3367 (item 4590347703 end time Nov-20-05 16:20:26 PST)

Found another auction for "restored" Holley #3367 with date code 5A3, seller indicates this reflects 1965, November, 3rd week.

Yet another auction with D474 date code. This is a used Holley #3367 bought from the current Corvette Central catalog.

How are date codes deciphered for Holley's and is there a difference with service dated carbs?

Here are some notes I have on holley date codes

A carb note .the carb has a 3 digit date codefirst digit =year 5=65 6=66secound digit=month 1=jan 2=feb 3 =march 4=aprill 5=may 6=june 7=july 8=august 9=sept 0=octA=NOV B=DEC

THIRD DIGIT=WEEK 1=FIRST WEEK 2=2ND WEEK 3=3RD WEEK 4=4TH WEEK 5=5TH WEEK

I agree with Larry on the date coding:
1st digit is year, 2nd digit is month, 3rd digit it week.

I believe, but may be wrong, that later dated units had a 4 digit date code but I'm not sure when that started. My Holley 2818-1 is a 4-digit date code so it's a service replacement unit.

to answer your question of "what is a service dated" carb - that's a carb that is the proper type and model for your car but has a later dating than your cars production date. It may be a year or 10 years later. Typically it was because something went faulty with the original carb so it was replaced but with another one of the same model.
At least, that is my understanding of it, but if i'm wrong I'm sure plenty of people will correct me.

As for the differance between a service replacement unit and an original I am not sure what the differances are