Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Hi All! Newbie Here.

Iroc2Vette

Corvette
2013 Z06 1LZ
I just wanted to intro myself. I came from rather humble beginnings. I sold my IROC-Z28 last year and used the proceeds toward the new 'Vette. When it hit 200Kmiles, and the restoration bill was running to over the $45K mark (including some upgrades), I decided it was time to move on. I bought it new in 1985 for the 1986 model year. The IROC was a great car to step up to a Corvette from. It was reasonably fast (it had a 1985 Gen 1 L98 TPI, 5 speed manual and lots of aftermarket upgrades). had terrific handling, etc. A real budget sports car.

After doing three years of research trying to determine what the IROC's replacement should be, I bit the financial bullet (big time!) and dealer ordered a 2013 Z06 1LZ. This car is like the old IROC on HUGE quantities of steroids!! A Ferrari in Chevy clothing, imo.

I've already put close to 10Kmi on the Z and I haven't even had it for a year yet! The car is absolutely addicting to drive. I've read all the critiques (even listened to what Jeremy Clarkston said about it on Top Gear) and I still still think it was the right decision. The car is a giant killer. As sedate and serene to drive just puttering about town as a Cadillac, yet, will try to suck the air out of one's lungs when the throttle is mashed at 4500 rpm in 3rd gear. Where the IROC would run out of steam, the Z feels like it just got fed with juice!! (NO2).

In the words of Ferris Bueller: "It is so choice. If you have the means, I highly recommend picking one up." :Steer

Welcome to CAC! Yes, they are addicting. And yes what you bought is light-years ahead of the IROC. I became addicted when I was 9 years old and had my first ride in a Corvette, a 63 SWC. Took me 10 years before I had my first one and then 30 years after that before I got back into them.

Enjoy the car, drive it. Post some pictures when you have time.:w

Welcome to CAC!!!!