Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Ken, help on a MK2 - 4+3 Overdrive

I'm not familiar with the "minor mod", but I am somewhat familiar with the 4+3. Mine is an "eight speed," not by choice. It will run in OD in any of the four gears.

I don't really see a downside to this, for that matter, I don't see an upside. I normally drive mine like a five speed. As soon as I start it up, I click the button once to toggle the OD off. Then when I get it wound out in fourth, I click the button to drop in OD. If I pass someone, I usually click it rather than just mashing hard on the pedal to automatically kick it down.

I personally see no need for OD in first gear which is what the mod would do.

Good luck,

Hey Everyone => THX

Thanks to all of your replies - this is a great forum!

;worship ;worship

hey muskiemike,i am new to this also,i have learned and found out so much info with corvette action center.its nice to see someone else with an 1984,it seems all i hear about the 84's is somethings wrong or there if you even hear about the 84's.It doesnt matter to me though ,I have my dream car a corvette!I looked for a 2 months for a clean corvette in my price range and found this beautiful blue 84 vette.I can go on and on bout her.I live in the Dallas area also and havent seen another 84 yet!I have a few problems with her like a small trans. leak. And other problems you would encounter with any 20 year old car.This may sound strange but I look forward to waking up every morning knowing I am about to get into my corvette.but heres a question for all,is it true that when u go to buy a part for your vette if all possible dont tell them its for a vette cause they will charge you 5 times more for the same part that fits another GM car?For example ,I had to buy valve cover gaskets should i have just said I need them for a small block chevy not a corvette (are they the same part?).

Nice looking car Doobie ...

Are those 17 inch wheels with adapters,