Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

lets here from the experts on gelcoat

vette

Corvette
1966 coupe
lets here from the experts. first are corvettes gelcoated from the factory? second do you use gelcoat after stripping the cars or a high build polyester primer? now when i say gelcoat i mean gelcoat like used in molds and applied with a gelcoat gun. third, do you need a polyester based primer at all?

To gelcoat or not to gelcoat that is the question. This subject seems to come up repeatedly on this forum and I believe the knowledgeable people here have busted the myth about gelcoating, but let them speak for themselves, as I am no expert on the subject. I have asked the same question myself. Im sure you will get a reply soon.

1. I am no expert, but I am a student of Corvette history
2. I have heard before, and most recently just saw it again confirmed (on the corvetteforum) that only very early Corvettes (like 53's) had a gelcoat factory applied. So the big General himself didn't do it that way, if you take good guidance from that.
3. As for how to best approach in this matter if engaged in prepping my Corvette (65) for the very best result for a new paint job starting with a bare (sanded, media blasted? another debate!) body, I only know what was done to mine back in 1997 during a frame-off resto (Prior owner) - no gelcoat. I have not had to make that decision yet myself.

well i am one who gelcoated and i admit its alot of work to sand,but the results i was after im happy with.I mustve blocksanded for months but in the end its straight and a great smooth finish.T he main reason i did was there was so many errand strands of fiberglass sticking up.I also gelcoated it in blue so i had a great color base to start with.Its been almost 7 years and absolutley no problems.Also when i gelcoated then i applied a mold release formula like a green wax over it so the gelocat dried,then a few days just washed it off with soap and water.