Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Help! Long Term Storage Start Up Help

Sky6

Corvette
2002 z06
I am in the military and have been gone and deployed for over 2 years. I stored my 2002 c5 z06 corvette in my garage. I put in fuel stabilizer and a battery charger. I did not put it on blocks so I guess I will have to replace the tires and the battery. I am in no way a car mechanic and I want to make sure the car has done to it what needs to be done correctly so it is not hurt during start up. So, I am thinking of having the local chevy dealer bring a flat bed over and have it taken to the dealer so they can go over it and make sure it is properly prepped before start up. Does this make sense to you all? Please let me know what you think. God Bless USA!:thumb

First and foremost: Thank you for your service to our great nation. :pat

Second: :welcome

Now for your inquiry; I'm no mechanic either, but I'm sending a link to this thread to a couple of members who are. They should check in soon with some suggestions/advice to get you started.

Enjoy the CAC!
:wJane Ann

From a person who has put many vehicles back into service after long naps- charge the battery, change the oil and filter, check all other fluids very carefully especially brakes, turn the key and off you go for a gentle test ride around the block. Make sure your brakes are 100%. It's possible that your tires might have flat spots, but also possible that these will work themselves out after a few minutes of driving.

No need to send the car off to dealer- they won't have a clue what to do other than a bunch of motherhood/CYA stuff of dubious benefit.