Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

LT4 LT4 Fuel Filter Clogged

1996 LT4 Topic
O

okie

Just a quick question. About three weeks ago while going through the gears at about 4K RPM the LT4 felt like it hit a rev limiter. Scared okie, thought I broke something in the engine! I had the fuel filter changed out and wow what a difference! It runs better than ever. Here, however, is the question. The mechanic showed me the old filter and it was badly clogged with a brown substance, almost like very fine sand. Is this an indication of a bad tank (as the mechanic suggested) or is it just a result of the car setting too long with the same tank of gas? Could be both I suppose. Have any of the rest of you guys had or heard of such a problem? I still have yet to put 1000K on the car since I got it in October, so I am still learning it's behavoir patterns. Although it is still for sale I am still struggling to keep it if I can. Thanks,,

okie

it could be nothing more than a bad tank of gas... if the problem persists, you have something to worry about... if not, then it was just a one time thing

Clogged Filter

Thanks, guess if I can find the time to drive a couple more tanks through it I will know a bit more. I do know I don't want to have the tank replaced. Big bucks I hear....

Purge the tank? .......Possible. Replace the tank? Unlikely.
Of course there may be more to your story than what I 've seen so far? Good Luck. Oh btw, where have you been purchasing your fuel??
jd

Lt4 GS

I have only put three tanks in it and still have more than half of the last one. I never let it get below half a tank anyway, but I think I got all the gas at the BP in Colonial Beach. I would bet almost all the fuel around here comes from the same source anyway. I have not had any problems with my commuter car and I go through a ton of gas in it. I am a bit worried that what ever it was it was in the tank when I got it..