Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Need urgent evaluation advice

KOPBET

Corvette
'73 Silver LS4 4 speed
Calling all shark experts! I have little knowledge on these cars and need your advice please.

I am going to look at a '73 tonight.

About all I know so far:

Has overhauled original 454 except for intake and heads, cam. Has higher comp heads and hotter cam (from what I've been told thus far). 4 spd w/ 68k.

Silver w/ox blood interior. I know the front bumper will need cracks repaired or replaced.

What I am looking for is advice on what to check out and what to look out for. I am not concerned with originality, matching. Where to check for rust, what to expect for the price - $9.5k

TIA - Kop.

Update:

Information from seller:

1973 Corvette Stingray T-Top Coupe - Partially restored
454 Cubic Inch engine, 4 speed Transmission
68K miles.

Complete engine overhaul @ 67K mi. with hotter cam
& raised compression. Still runs on regular gas.
Stainless steel exhaust tips & trim rings
All exterior chrome replaced or re-chromed
Brake overhaul including s/s calipers, pads, hoses, mast. cyl.
All rubber weather seals replaced - doors, t-top, underhood
Interior update (except door panels) - new carpets, seat covers,
seat foam, several trim pieces
Suspension upgrade - shocks, improved strut rods, urethane
bushings
New radiator, heater core & hoses
Under-hood chrome & zinc plating
A/C update - VIR eliminator, hose, rebuilt compressor

Pics to follow...

All the mods he has made either devalue the car or have no effect, but do not increase the value. The engine mods in particular devalue the car as an original untoouched '73 454 car are much sought after. I hope the engine pad was not erased during the overhaul.

If you are not experienced in looking at C3s, you might want to have somebody with you, or hire somebody to do it. It's all too easy to accidently think with the 'small' brain and buy a pretty car that turns out to be a resto-pig.