Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Opinions needed. 72 body off resto or not.

S

Sunstroked

A little background. I'm a 2 corvette owner, I've had a 92 for over 5 yrs now. It's pretty much stock except for a few enhancements. I've done all mechanical work myself, and drive the car often. As I believe corvettes were meant to be. My day job is an aircraft mechanic. Been doing it for almost 30 yrs.

Now, my new vette is a 72 coupe. A desert car. It has the base 200 hp engine, 4 spd muncie, deluxe interior with factory air conditioning.This car has lived it's life in the dry CA and AZ weather. It also hasn't been started since the early 90's. It still wears the original lacquer Elkhart green paint, although it is severely checked and looks really bad. The engine trans and diff have never been out of the car. The doors still close and latch without slamming. The engine is going to be removed, disassembled, overhauled and kept pretty much the way it was built. I will probably up the hp a bit, but nothing dramatic. lets call it refreshed. Trans and diff, same thing.

Now the opinions I'm seeking. I want to bring this car back as original as I can. Think ncrs judged. The frame has mild surface rust in some places and factory coatings over most of it. Dirty yes, rust not so much. All rubber is shot and needs replacing.
For those that have, would you remove the body to bring it back to life, or just remove the components from the car to overhaul it? I'll just let the opinions come in before responding. Thanks, Kevin, aka Sunstroked.

Ncrs....

If your going to have it judged and looked at by a guy with a pencil and clipboard that is going to count the rows of threads in your seatbelts, I would go frame off for sure.
If your making it cherry for yourself to go out and hit a few cruise nights,turn a few heads, make yourself smile......then leave it and go frame on restoration.

My opinion....Chas

My 2 Cents Worth