Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Problem with radio reception ?

O

Oakboc

I have a brand new 2005 Victory red vette with a terrible problem. My radio when in radio mode does not pick up local stations and when it does they have a terrible static in the backround. This seems to be an itermitant problem, yesterday when it was doing it, I happened to open the drivers door and the stations came in clear ??? I took it back to the dealer and they didn't seem to have a clue as to where to start to look for the antenna hookups. I dont want to be the first experiment. I am wondering if anyone else has had this problem.
I have the upgraded system with Navigation ans XM Sattilite which by the way works perfect.

Thanks,

BOC

I am by no means an electrical engineer or anything. In fact I know very little about electronics, but it sounds like I would start with the antenna connection. On my C5 the antenna is in the winshield, and the connector is right behind the rear view mirror. If yours is the same set up on the C6, maybe thats lose?? Or the one on the back of the radio.

Also, you gave a great description except for one thing: is this happening with AM or FM or both???

Good luck with the radio situation. I hope you get it corrected soon. If not, at least I'll reconize you Oakboc, when I see you. Your the guy driving down the road with his door open!!!:L

Alot of people seem to be having this problem. The fix for now is to switch from FM to AM and back, that seems to clear the problem until GM comes up with a real fix.

The antennas and communications interface modules are at the very back of the car.

Electronic nightmare