Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Question about car waxes and soaps

Ross D

Corvette
1976 Red Stingray
Red 1976 Stingray Coupe with a brand new paint job. The guy who painted it said we need to find a GM brand Hand Glaze wax because if we use anything with Carnuba Oil any touch up paint will not stick. I'm having trouble finding this wax and i have heard it is fairly expensive. I was wondering if there is any truth to this type of wax, or what you recommended for best results for the new paint. Thanks

How new is the paint job? I am by no means a paint expert,but i was always told not to put wax on a new paint job for the first two months.

Carnuba waxes can be easiliy cleaned off of your car if needed.

If you just want to do a small touch up, you can clean the area with rubbing alcohol. Strips the wax off and won't hurt the paint.

If you want to strip the entire car, wash it with Dawn dishwashing liquid.

I agree with Sharkcar...I've always been told that a new paint job has to cure for at least two months. Can't hurt to wait anyway.

As far a choice of waxes, by far the best I've seen is Zaino. I've used it on my '07 Daytona since new and am very happy with both the results and the longevity. Show quality gloss. Don;t have to reapply every time I wash the car.

While Carnuba waxes can give you a very nice gloss, they don't last long. Warm temperatures can melt the wax leaving your paint unprotected. If you use Carnuba waxws you will need to reapply every time you wash your car.

Hop down to the parts department of your favorite Chevrolet dealer and see if those folks know about the GM glaze.

:)

I've used the GM glaze before and wasn't really happy with it. It's not a protectant wax, it's basically there to make the car look good on the showroom.
You can pretty much use any modern wax on a new paint job, just wait at least 3 months before using anything to allow the paint to properly cure.