Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

salvage title -need advice

vetahlk

Corvette
YELLOW 2002/RED 1/18TH C6 COUPE
I am considering buying a 93 with a salvage title. The car looks beautiful. Has 34K on it. The current owner is a mechanic and body man by trade. Has driven the car for several years. He has been very honest about everything. Says that there was no engine/drive train/suspension damage, but the frame needed slight straightning, which was restored by laser measurement. I'm not looking for an investment, but a fun car (a toy). The price is too god to pass on. What should I look out for and what do you think.

L

LarryBible

I don't know about Michigan, but in Texas a salvage title covers a broad range of salvage situations. The car may have only had minimal damage, but because of the fact that it was sold by the insurance company at auction automatically puts it under a salvage title.

My Dad retired in '83 and has been buying, reconditioning and selling Honda cars ever since. I have seen him get everything from cars that I wouldn't even buy to get a part off of, to cars that had extremely minimal body damage and it makes you wonder why they ended up at auction. Almost all his cars end up with a salvage title.

My Dad insists that the salvage title is something that was lobbied for by the new car manufacturers. I don't necessarily agree with that, but it is to the new car companies benefit for more cars to be "branded."

It sounds like this guy is being straight about it, but a good con man can make himself appear straight.

I recommend that you find a reputable major collision guy that you can trust and have him look it over closely including putting the car on a lift and examining closely underneath. If the car passes his inspection and it drives properly and is rattle free, then make your decision.