Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Sluggish acceleration

• Thread starter Thread starter jedi
  • Start date Start date
J

jedi

My 95 automatics acceleration has been getting a little sluggish lately. When I try to accelerate in 2nd or 3rd I have to get on the go peddle more than normal :D to get that corvette feeling. SO...I took it to a tranny place today and they could not find anything wrong. What else could cause this type of issue? It does not happen all the time. Just sometimes it does not accelerate as quick as I am used to. Could it be in my head? :crazy
Jedi

It might be in your head, I've been thinking the same thing lately about my truck; it seems like I gotta put more of my foot into it lately to get it to go anywhere. But then, maybe it's just me wanting my Vette. :L

Im a novice, but it could be anything from a weak ignition component (wires, coil, sparkplugs, timing retarded etc), or it could be something in the head (warped, sticking valve etc) or it could be rings, it could be the computer or mas airflow (or are lt1s map?) or the throttle position sensor, dirty air filter, failing fuel pump etc I mean it goes on and on. So many things can cause an engine to lose power. It may not even be the engine... the list goes on.

Any codes? .. Just in 2nd and 3rd? How does it pull in first? I dont know how hard it is to run a compression check on an LT1...

trying to help,

-chris

Pull your spark plugs to check the gap and their color. If they're OK, road test the car with a fuel pressure gauge.

Good luck!

Update