Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Strange Electrical Problem

Rowdy1

Corvette
1962 CORVETTE-SOLD 2004 Z16 Z06 CE
Two years ago this winter, I had a very capable Wyoming Tech grad and close friend completely rewire the 62 with a Painless 18 circuit harness. Everything's been perfect until I finished the trans swap, I lost the dash lights and the rear parking lights. I have blinker and brake lights in the back, front, high and low beam, etc. he checked it out last night and said the head light switch was bad and even ohmed it out. Now mind you, I have NO electrical knowledge, but he was totally convinced it was the switch, until today, when I replaced it with a brand new one, yep, you got it, same thing. No rear parking lights and no dash lights. I replaced the head light switch and the ignition switch as well as the high beam when we wired it, they worked, I just wanted to eliminate any future problems with forty plus year old switches. I used a Balklamp sold by NAPA, is there something I should know here, or should I say HE should know?

On a guess, I'd say start chasing ground straps. Without ground, the circuits can't work and Vettes, with their fibreglass bodies, are notorious for having this kind of problem. Take a circuit which you know works and test the ground on your faulty circuits. If it isn't ground, then you're going to have to start chasing wires. Problems like this can drive you crazy but you'll find the solution!

Changing the switches wasn't a bad idea from a reliability perspective, so don't feel your time was wasted.

Mac is correct, if you used an off the shelf painless kit it might have enough "grounds" to run everything correctly and by changing the trans you may have disturbed a ground or a 40 year old electrical connection.
A Corvette as well as most kit cars need two wires to almost everything a "hot" and a "ground" In addition your MSD should have each head grounded.
Craig sr.

Coincidence?