Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Timing question - do I have a problem??

Wolverine

Corvette
1976 Bright yellow L82 4-speed
I have owned a '76 L82 for the past 4 years, and just did my first complete tune-up. (I'm a novice with this stuff but have been muddling through a lot of repair projects.) It has always run really well and I did the tune-up more for the experience than anything else.

I changed the dist. cap, rotor, wires, plugs (correctly gapped), and coil (with an Accell HEI super coil). I went through all the vacuum hoses and replace a broken EGR thermal vacuum control switch. The last thing I did was set the timing back to factory specs (vacuum advance disconnected and plugged, idle to 1000 RPM's, timing to 12 degrees BTDC). I noted that before adjustment, the timing reading was off the scale (>14 degrees BTDC).

It started right up and ran really smooth -but- without much power. Clearly, the engine wants a lot more advance, and I am going to adjust the distributor back to where it was before. My question is - at factory specs is an L82 really that much of a dog? Or is there something wrong with the distributor? Is there something else I should be checking other than resetting the advance?

Thanks.

Assuming that you are using good gas at a reasonable octane rating, you should be able to advance it to get more HP.

If you have a dial up advance on your timing light, set your advance for a maximum of 36 degrees BTDC @ 3000 RPM.
Normally, your 12 degree BTDC should be set at 650 RPM.That may be the reason your curve is a little low at top end.
Alternatively, you can advance it by ear until you get to the point that it pings under throttle then retard it until it stops pinging.

I have a couple of suggestions:

1. Clean and lube the weights of the mechanical advance under the distributor rotor. Use a lubricant such as that used for contact points.