Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Help! Transmission problems

DagWide

Corvette
Z06, 2006
Hi! Sweden calling!
I have been driving Corvettes for many years. Now I have a Z06, 2006, 15000 miles. I love the car but I must say I’m not fond of this transmission at all. They use a modified T-56 transmission in the Z06. This transmission is found in many other cars like the Aston Martin DB9, so it should be a well tested transmission. I recall having read that the transmission was changed or modified in 2008. Does anybody know?
My problems: First of all, there is a lot of noise from the transmission below 1500 rpm. I have read that that this is “normal” but I can’t say I‘ve heard similar sound from the gearbox in any other car. Can anybody explain why I have this noise and if it’s like this in all Corvettes with manual transmission, even newer Corvettes? Secondly, I have to use some force to put the car into gear especially into first and the reveres gear. Even if it’s a “racing transmission” I expected a “smoother” gear change!

HI there,

#1, the Vanquish or Vanquish S were the only 2 Astons equipped with the T56.
DB9 had an italian based six speed manual made by Graziano.

As for the noise, because you have a torque tube that spins at all times where most others do NOT.

#2, you might try to get your shifter adjusted to assist in the function of the gear selection. The transmission was redesigned in 2005 for the c6 and works very well. Revised syncronizers and different shift rails and better shifter were all updates.

Corvette is its own design and cannot be truthfully compared to any other car because none other has the backbone torque tube design.

Allthebest, c4c5

In re: the high shift effort...another thing you might check is your clutch hydraulics. If there's any air in the system, you may have a problem with not getting a full clutch release when shifting.

As for the transmission noise, what kind of noise do you hear?

Whine?
Howl?