Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

a DIFFERENT cheap fix for cracked interior pieces

dshanks

Corvette
1971 4spd coupe - Charcoal Gray
I noticed in the other recent thread on this topic that his dash reskin project started with a very small crack.

I thought Id share with you guys how I addressed this problem.
When I started my restoration, I knew I wanted to restore it to original, but unfortunately there were damaged areas all over the interior. And I was too broke to replace major interior parts. Fortunately they were small enough to repair.
These interior pieces are foam wrapped in vinyl, whick cracks very easily. I discovered a glue that repairs this type of material very easily.
I'm a graphic artist, so I am a little crafty, but I think anyone could do this.
I started with an expensive (but worth it) glue called PascoFix. Its used in conjunction with PascoFill. Pascofix is similar to superglue, but comes in a larger bottle, maybe 2-3oz. and is MUCH stronger. PascoFill is a granular filler, resembling white sand. It comes in the same sized bottle...

Heres a link:
http://www.pascofix.com/

Anyway, Ill give examples of how I fixed certain common problems.

Ill start with the dash.
My dash was ok, with one large crack near the drivers side A-pillar that went almost from front to back.
I poured the PascoFill in the crackand leveled it off. then I lightly added Pascofix as needed. When the two touch, they bond/dry instantly making a rock hard repair. Try not to get too much excess because the dash material is weaker than the PascoFix, so material removal takes a LIGHT and exact touch. I sanded the crack smooth.