Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Callaway Performance Package

kwtolman

Corvette
2005 Z51 Coupe
I own an '05 C6 Z51 coupe and have been considering having Callaway install the supercharger performance package. I have been on the phone with Peter Callaway numerous times and have found him to be very helpful. However, since I am new to the performance game and have no experience with Callaway, what issues should I be concerned about before I move ahead? Have any of you had warranty disputes with either GM or Callaway after installing a performance package? If so, how were they resolved? How has overall reliability of the roots style supercharger been? How is Callaway post-sale support? Does gas mileage drop much with normal driving? Does the supercharger generate under-hood heat that the C6 cooling system can't handle? What advice do any of you have? ;help

kwtolman,

I am the 2nd owner of a 1991 Callaway Twin Turbo Corvette. In 2005, after several years of ownership, I took it in for restoration and in the process did quite a few upgrades.

Callaway has always been regarded as the best in terms of power, styling, professional engineering design and craftsmanship, and standing behind their products. My experience with them reinforced all I had heard and read. And this was with a product that is not current technology -- at the time 14 years old.

At the moment, I have a 2008 C6 on order and plan a Callaway conversion when it drop ships to them.

Supercharging is now commonplace. The Supercharger on my 2000 Jag XKR has been very reliable and knowing that Callaway has not only done the research AND testing, are the exclusive distributor for Magnusen for Corvette, and warrant the work they do, I have the higest degree on confidence in the product that they sell.