Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

1972 LT-1 Convert Pricing HELP

S

sepperson

I have an opportunity to purchase an original 72 LT-1 convertible, but need some of your experience to help point me in the right direction. I have owned a 70 convertible before so I have general ideas on what to look for and I have also restored several Mustang Club of America Gold cars (similar to your NCRS)(yea I know...trader) so I am not a novice - but when it comes to LT-1's I definetely am.

Here is some information on the car. It is a four owner Mille red black interior "no hit" 90,000 mile car. The original engine (block, heads, crank, etc.) come with the car and I have verified the casting #'s and VIN which are all matching (except for distributor and carb - how do I check?). However, the third owner sucked a valve and it blew a hole in the cylinder wall. I have checked with many resources and they said it was salvageable with a sleeve. The original Muncie is in the car (have not checked the #'s) as well as the rear end. Currently the car is running with another 350 (what car it is from the owner does not know). The original paint is on the car, as well as interior and covert top. The hardtop is included as well. Overall the condition of the car is a #3 that will need bodywork/paint, interior refresh, mechanicals rebuilt and suspension, etc. It is presentable, but not impressive. I am not looking to do a NCRS Top Flight car but a very correct presentable driver. I have a confirmed offer of $16,500 on the car, but I am now not so sure.

Any help on what other items to look for (i.e. I verified VIN on the post had an "L") and pricing would be certainly appreciated and I am looking forward in joining the "other side".

Sam

Sam

First, welcome to the CAC! :beer