Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

1973 Front bumper issue

Oynch

Corvette
1973 Corvette roadster
I wish to purchase a new bumper for my '73. I've purchased a TruFlex bumper and it won't fit due to it's sizing. I asked around and I've got the impression that I must remove the front impact bar in order to install a bumper (TruFlex or otherwise). Is this true? I'm no expert, but I am not thrilled with the idea of removing a vital part of the bumper just to fit an ill-designed TruFlex or fiberglass bumper. Am I making a mountain out of a mole hill here or is there a bumper I can purchase that is designed correctly and fits over the standard impact bar?

Welcome To The CAC

I agree. Removing your impact bar to install a new bumper cover doesn't sound like a good idea. I've never installed anything other than GM front bumpers but I would think an aftermarket bumper should fit as original or there is a problem with the bumper. I put Eckler's fiberglass on the rear of a '74 once and they fit perfectly without any modifications. They looked great too without any waves or wrinkles.

Tom

1973 front bumper issue

I agree. Removing your impact bar to install a new bumper cover doesn't sound like a good idea. I've never installed anything other than GM front bumpers but I would think an aftermarket bumper should fit as original or there is a problem with the bumper. I put Eckler's fiberglass on the rear of a '74 once and they fit perfectly without any modifications. They looked great too without any waves or wrinkles.

Tom