Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

1981 Corvette ECM vs engine mods

Don61

Corvette
1981 coupe white w/red int auto
Can anyone explain to me exactly what the computer (ECM) on my 81 vette does? How will it limit or effect engine modifications such as heads, cam, intake & carb? I was planning on changing heads to some 64cc aluminum ones, changing to a slightly larger hydraulic cam, changing headers & changing to a performer type intake & carb. But I have no experience working with computer equipped cars & don't know how these mods will affect the computer or vis-versa.

The only thing you need to look out for is the cam selection. A to bigga cam will lower the vacuum signal to the ECM at idle and higher. At that time the ECM is thinking your accelerating and signals the carb to give a richer mixture. So the engine will be running richer all the time. If I remember correctly Gerry has a XE268 cam in this engine so that size will be save. And as with any Q-jet change heads, cam, compression etc etc will change the setup for the carb and internal passage dimensions.

The only thing the ECM does is checking the CO mixture and adjusting the carb mixture to compensate for a rich or lean condition. As the system is a 10Hz system (max changing 10x a second, this equals the system speed of a crossfire or TPI at 600 rpm idle. At 3000 rpm that is 50 rounds per second. At that rpm the system only changes the mixture every 5 revolutions....

Greetings Peter

Peter is right on with his description. Talk to your cam company and tell them this is going into an ECM controlled car. Other option is to pick the cam, get it installed, take vacuum readings, then talk to someone like Hypertech that does custom PROM programming. They can burn the PROM to compensate for non stock vacuum, mixture, and timing requirements.