Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Help! 1981 No power to windows and driver seat

Shadow

Corvette
1981 Coupe
Windows and power driver seat suddenly stopped working. Circuit breaker replaced, still no function. Bad
ground somewhere?

Grounds are normally worth checking, but if they both stopped at the same time its probably not a ground as they use separate grounds. (unless its a main ground that's loose but i think you would notice other problems)
Have you checked to see if there is 12v on the load side of the circuit breaker? if there was a short somewhere it would trip as soon as it pressed in, or as soon as you try to run a bad motor.

1981 No power to electric windows/driver's seat

Antz81, you are correct; no power to load side of circuit breaker. I removed the
seat and checked the wiring, which appears ok. Any suggestions as to where I
should begin the search for the short? I am somewhat new to the 1981 Vette
"electrical gremlins". Thank you for your assistance!

No Power to windows/driver's seat

Just to clarify, NO power at fuse block where circuit breaker is inserted, ignition on or off.
Pink wire firmly connected to fuse block. All other vehicle accessories functioning normally,
ie., power door locks, antenna, interior courtesy lights, etc...

Just to clarify, NO power at fuse block where circuit breaker is inserted, ignition on or off.
Pink wire firmly connected to fuse block. All other vehicle accessories functioning normally,
ie., power door locks, antenna, interior courtesy lights, etc...

No power to the fuse block? If what you say is correct then you should still have continuity across the circuit breaker.
That being the case check at the six pin connector on the passenger side of the motor (this goes dow to the starter) you should have 12v on both red wires. If not then there is a fusable link down near the starter that is gone.