Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Help! 1992 C4... No Start!

jrclark32

Corvette
1992 Coupe; 6-speed; Blue
I have a 1992 C4 with a 6-speed. She's been sitting for a few months, and when I got her uncovered and fired her up she ran for about 30 seconds, then just dropped dead -- as if I'd turned the key off. Now the engine just cranks and cranks... not so much as a sputter.

I've had this problem before, and the first time it was the ICM, the 2nd time it was the coil. I've only driven a few thousand miles since both of those were replaced.

I have good fuel pressure, and there's spark. I'm no expert, but it seems to me that when you mix air, gasoline, and electricity together something should happen.

I am, however, a little confused on what to look for with spark. I'm used to pulling a spark plug, and looking for that nice blue spark, but I've been told that I should use a spark tester on the LT1. The instructions say to set the gap to 10mm for electronic ignitions (which seems WAY too wide to me), and I'm seeing orange/white when it fires. What should it look like?

Could my coil be bad again already?? Would I get spark at all at the plugs if it is?

Thanks for your help guys!

Have you pulled the ECM codes? Could be a bad Optispark Module but more likely a loose or bad connection from the coil to the Opti.

Ok, let's start at step 1.

Check fuel pressure while cranking, does it stay stable(40+ psi).

Yes, coil can spark and be weak. Do not think it is the coil.

Not likely the opti and have you pulled codes?

Have you tested the fuel for water and contamination?

How was the car running before stored?

Did you top off the tank and put a stabilzer in the gas?

What is the condition of the SP wires?

Did the car just die, sputter or slowly die?

Give everything you know, so we can help you better.

Critters