Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Question: 4-Speed Identification

Indyhac

Corvette
1974 Mille Miglia Red Coupe
I'm new to Corvettes and trying to identify what make transmission my '74 has. I viewed a post with codes for Muncie 4-speeds. Mine does not have any numbers/letters that match those. Here is what is cast into the right side of the case: 1304 065 903
W. G. Div. FC2 (the C might be a 0)

My repair manual shows 3 different 4-Speeds for 1974, Saginaw, Muncie, & Warner. I would surmise that the W. G. Div. on the case means that it was supplied by Borg-Warner. The reason I want to find out is because I want to find a competent repair shop and would like to be able to tell them what transmission I have. This is because the transmission whines or growls in 1st, 2nd, & 3rd if I don't accelerate hard. If I drive it easy, it sounds like my grandfather's old '37 Chevy or a truck transmission. I didn't notice this when the owner and I went for a test drive because he didn't drive it very slow. Should have driven it myself! A guy I ran into today told me that a Muncie Rock Crusher would tend to be noisy but didn't think that those were available for '74 Vettes. If anyone is knowledgeable on this, I'd appreciate some help. I don't know if the VIN# sheds any light on this or not. It is: 1Z37J4S430107. I haven't found anywhere yet to decode the VIN. Thanks,
Scott:confused

The W does indicate this being a BW transmission. No '74 Corvettes had a Saginaw unit, nor were there any M22 'rock crushers' used.

The 'J' in your VIN means that the car has a base L48 engine. The only manual transmission available with the L48 was the M20 wide ratio unit.

4-speed identification