Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

59Tom and others, please read this

Bo Dillingham

Corvette
1965 crimson pearl (2002 cadillac?)
To Tom, Steve, Billagroom, William, and all who responded to my questions of late, Thank you very much. I thought you might appreciate the story of my Corvette, and why I am trying to figure out so many things.

The 1965 Corvette convertible belonged to my brother in law and dearest friend, Charley Lella. He was killed in a plane crash in 1970. He was a foreman for the local Chevy dealer, so he was allowed to buy one car a year at cost. Since he could make the most money on Corvettes, he bought one every year and sold it at a profit. He fell in love with the ’65, so it became his baby. When I graduated from college in 1968, Charley arranged to buy a 1968 Chevelle Malibu convertible for me at cost, thus sacrificing his own annual buy. He also is the guy who helped me restore my first car, a 1951 Ford.

When he died in the plane crash, my sister got the car, and drove it for about 15 years. During that time, she got into three accidents, but always got the car repaired. When she got too old to handle it, my nephew got it, and has been driving it ever since. A long time ago, I told him that I would buy the car from him if he ever got into financial trouble, and take good care of it until he could buy it back.

I got that phone call a few months ago. Since I have only a two car garage, I had to sell my 68 Chevelle to make room for the 65 Corvette. I would rather have my brother in law alive and have my Chevelle back, but I gave my nephew my word.