Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

A/C problems on my Z

• Thread starter Thread starter FrogindaBlender
  • Start date Start date
F

FrogindaBlender

I have been fighting with my 91 zr1 ac for a few months now. The problem is no cold air. I am getting a intermittant sun sensor short (08) code on the diagnostics. From what I have been able to diagnose so far is as follows. Compressor spins freely (engine off), Compressor Clutch does not engage (engine on), A/C Compressor relay engages however unknown if power going to Clutch. I wanted to connect power to the two wires coming out of the compressor at the front of the to see if the clutch would engage but i did not want to blow something out. Any Ideas?

Hey Frogindablender. Do you know my friend, Gerbilindamicrowave?

I wouldn't jump the compressor clutch, you might destroy the compressor in doing so. Most likely you are low on gas and the low pressure sensor is preventing the compressor from running. Could be the sensor itself though. Maybe an A/C mechanic will chime in.

FrogindaBlender said:
I have been fighting with my 91 zr1 ac for a few months now. The problem is no cold air. I am getting a intermittant sun sensor short (08) code on the diagnostics. From what I have been able to diagnose so far is as follows. Compressor spins freely (engine off), Compressor Clutch does not engage (engine on), A/C Compressor relay engages however unknown if power going to Clutch. I wanted to connect power to the two wires coming out of the compressor at the front of the to see if the clutch would engage but i did not want to blow something out. Any Ideas?