Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Best Aftermarket Navigation/CD/Ipod Dock/Radio to add to 90 Corvette Coupe

tbond669

Just wondering what you guys recommended as far as a aftermarket Navigation/CD/Ipod Dock/Radio to change out in my new 90 coupe...looking for something very solid yet somewhat easy on the pocket book...lol Also there is a static like sound coming out of my right front speaker when I adjust the volume up...like there is a short in it or something. It is a Bose system. Again, I am totally new to the vette world but I am extremely pumped about this car. thx again

I've had pretty good luck with Pioneer and rely quite heavily on Crutchfield's site for fitment and reviews. their prices are higher but customer service has been superb. From them, the best deals are in close-out or scratch/dent.

Another upside is the install kit that is usually included for no charge.

Most of the major brands will perform well, but the real cheap ones will probably have you shopping again, soon.

Be advised, the Bose inputs are at a different level, from all others with amplifiers inside each speaker, so some sort of intermediate amp will probably be needed. Some of us also changed out the speakers and wires, especially if we went with a total system change.

The static my be a failing component in that speakers electronics, a loose solder connection or other poor connection. If it is only at high volume, I'd suspect a failing cone or surround, due to age and use. I am not certain on your system, but if you can access the speaker cone by removing the grille, inspect the cone and surround for rips or bad deterioration, then push gently with equally spaced fingertips, to check for voice coil binding when the cone moves. I'd suspect the surround/support is failing more than the voice coil.
They can be rebuilt and/or reconed by some shops recommended on this forum. :w