Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Question: Braided brake hoses

Redcap

Corvette
Torch Red 2000 fixed roof coupe.
I have a 2000 hard top and have been thinking about replacing the brake hoses with braided stainless steel units. I've seen a couple things on the internet that claim that they interfere with the wheel speed sensors and produce error codes. Has anyone experienced this issue?

First off a Welcome is in order! :w Next, I will have to defer any comments as I can't answer your question. Hopefully, someone will be by soon to give you some help.

Welcome to CAC and the group!!!

I'd be interested in what affects, if any, braided lines would have myself..

Paul, c4c5, has posted in the distant past that GM has stated that steel braided brake lines can interfere with ABS sensor communication.

I have no knowledge of that happening, and personally do not know anyone that has experienced any issues with steel braided brake lines and computer communication issues.

First off a Welcome is in order! :w Next, I will have to defer any comments as I can't answer your question. Hopefully, someone will be by soon to give you some help.

Thanks!

Paul, c4c5, has posted in the distant past that GM has stated that steel braided brake lines can interfere with ABS sensor communication.

I have no knowledge of that happening, and personally do not know anyone that has experienced any issues with steel braided brake lines and computer communication issues.

Thanks for your insight on this.

Last edited:
I've heard the stories about braided brake hoses causing problems with ABS but, I've never experienced that myself nor have I known any other Corvetter who has braided hoses and has experienced such a problem.