Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Question: Bringin an 86 back to life

adfac

Corvette
1986 Dark Red Convertible
For 2 years, I've agonized over whether to restore my 86 vert or let her go and get a C5. I have a new engine with about 3,000 miles on it and mechanically, it runs great. And I don't want the car payment. So I've finally decided to paint, replace the top, and re-do the interior. Problem is, I'm not a mechanic and I don't know the first thing about restoration. Was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction. I think the right order would be to paint first, then do the top, then the interior. The best quote I've gotten to repaint is $3,500 to $4,000 which I think is a good deal. If anyone has any good restoration sources, I would surely appreciate any advice or contacts. I've pretty much decided to get all my interior parts from Corvette America. They seem to have the best deal on seats, carpet sets and weatherstripping which I really need. Thanks for any advice.

I have the reverse thought process. I would want paint to be near the last thing done. I would hate for a tool to be dropped on the car, or with people leaning against it putting new weather strip and the top on, I would paint last.

Depends a little on how extensive the paint job will be.You might want the weather stripping off ( if your replacing it) while it is being painted. Even some of the interior panels might be good to have off, such as door panels . Mostly for ease of painting, but also paint lines under them.
I would wait till I could afford it all and do it all at the same time.
Ask your body shop how they would prefer it.

Glenn
:w

Glenn is correct with his assesment.
I have done it both ways, depending on the amount of restoration that I am doing.

painting last is friendly to the paint but if you don't tape it up good you risk overspray.

If you are just painting the outer shell and staying with the same color paint last.