Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Engine heat damage to paint

1969D_Floyd

First, thanks to all of you who contribute to this awesome community! I have recently purchased my first Vette, a 69 350/350 coupe. I am a rookie when it comes to auto repair but am learning as fast as possible. This site is a huge help.

The paint job appears to be brand new. Recently, I have noticed several cracks developing on the hood & near the tops of the front wheel wells. This may be due to excess heat or the recent 40 degree temps in Chicagoland. I friend referred me to Dynamat engine compartment liners. This seems like a reasonable approach but I am concerned this could cause other problems like overheating.

Any advice? Thanks again to all!

:confused

1969D_Floyd,

I am not sure, but I think the 1969 came with a heat insulation installed on the hood. I know later years of sharks this was discontinued.

The cracks or spider type cracking is usually caused from stressing the fiber glass. If it is near the very front of the hood on each side of the hood, it may be cause from the hinges being over tight, or using the rubber spacers to make the hood align correctly. Most heat problems I relate to more on the center portion of the hood, and is as much the paint just being really old and drying out and causing "feathering" paint seperation, much like when "Bondo" is paint and then contracts as it drys.

My 81 has this on the hood where the scoop comes down from the middle on each side.

I'm sure there is someone here that knows more about this subject than me, and will enlighten us both. Good Luck and let us know what you find out ;)

Not The Heat