Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Floppy side view mirror glass, missing motor "posts"

steelguyshaun

Corvette
2001 C5
Hi all, new here today, but the site has been very helpful! Thank you all! Newbie here and to corvette ownership. I bought my wife a 2001 C5 convertible for her 40th Bday and have been fixing little things here and there with much help from this site. One thing I can't find any info about is: The drivers side view mirror glass moves freely by hand. I removed the glass mirror revealing the mirror motor. There was of course the larger center ball socket and there were two other pins only without springs from the motor housing to the plastic mirror casing. Nothing (no pins, etc) from the rotating power motor cogs to the mirror (the power motor seems to work fine.) My questions are as follows:

I assume there are supposed to be plastic pins at those two locations, right? Are then all four of those pins supposed to have springs on them?

Is there anywhere I can just buy the pins/springs without buying an entire motor or a full salvaged mirror to cannibalize for just a few plastic pieces?

Has anyone substituted these plastic pins with anything else that will work? (machine screws, etc)

Thanks! :beer