Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Help! headlight motors

gusgus

Corvette
1995 artic white
The headlight motors on my 95 coupe continue to run after the the lights are off and the engine is turned off. Of course this quickly drains the battery. Any suggestions as to a cause and a fix?

Spinning HL Motors

It sounds as if the gears may have stripped inside the actuator motors and is unable to signal the control module to stop providing power. (i.e., not sending a signal to shut off the motors.)
As a temporary fix to save your battery, you can pull the two 30 amp fuses that power the motors. The next step would be to pull one of the headlight motors off and open the gear box under the motor to see if it is full of ground up nylon off the teeth of the gears. If so, there’s your problem. If not, maybe a more seasoned CAC member can help.
I’m a newbie and headlight issues have been my first major problem.
I hope this is helpful to you.

It's more likely to be the three bushings inside one of the gears, than a stripped gear. These bushings are wear items, and are part of the overrunning clutch. When they wear out, the circuit doesn't know that the headlight doors are at their end limit, so the motor continues to run. The bushings are easy to replace, and may be available at your local auto parts store.

Note: These bushings are only used in the '88-'96 headlight doors.

:pat

Last edited:
Thanks

Thanks for the insight. I will look at the gears/bushings. Maybe a simpler solution than I thought.

Quality rebuilds 95 coupe headlight motor

The headlight motors on my 95 coupe continue to run after the the lights are off and the engine is turned off. Of course this quickly drains the battery. Any suggestions as to a cause and a fix?