Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Help with my current engine

80VetteL82

Corvette
1980 L82 Black/Red
Okay, so Ive owned my 1980 L82 for about 5years now... since I was 16. Over the years I have done a lot of restoration, but never got into the motor...mainly because of the price. The restoration I did was directed towards making it fun AND safe to drive, including major front and rear suspension/steering overhauling. I did most of this work myself, working part time as a mechanic during high school. Anyways... I now work full time as a Paramedic, and Im getting closer to the point where Im going to pull my motor.

Originally I had thought the motor in the car was original. It even had the appropriate L82 valve covers, but I never really looked into it to see what was in there. A couple of years ago I got suspicious when some of the Corporate blue block paint used in 1980 started to peel of the block, revealing orange paint which indicated the block may have been older than I thought. So I finally cleaned the block up and found the casting number and block ID number, and this is where my question comes in. From what Ive looked up the block is like a 1971 or 1972 010 block, which is supposedly a pretty good block...is that right? I believe the motor is from McKinnon Industries according to the casting number, what does this mean?

So basically, where I stand now is I have no idea what is in my car! I think Im going to pull the motor this winter and start from scratch. Anyways, sorry for the rambling, Im just looking to get any information from anybody knowledgable on this topic.... Here are the numbers, and I appreciate any help:thumb

Casting # (passenger side on block pad below R head)
K04 02 CGC

Block # (on the driver side of the block near the firewall)

Thanks again, I really appreciate any insight into this.