Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Minimal Surge Every Now and Then

Brown Bandit

Corvette
1982 Red Corvette
I have an 82 Cross Fire that ive been working on for a few months. When i bought the car originally it ran decent but could tell it needed some attention. When turning on the car noticed that it would idle at around 1000 -1100rpm before it would settle at around 800rpm at idle in park but once i drove the car for a little while and put it in park its idle would be at 1000rpm again. If i shifted to reverse or drive then put it back in park it settle down to 800rpm again. Replaced the CTS and seemed to bring down to 700 rpm in park which was perfect for me but the same thing would happen when driving it. It would go back up to 1000 rpm when put in park. Is this normal? Anyways so i started to chase down some vacuum leaks. Found a few lines and replaced as needed. Replaced some just for added insurance. Got it running pretty decent, enough to take 45 minute rides to the beach and back. Ended up getting an oil leak from the valve cover gasket and a coolant leak at the back of the manifold on the drivers side. Replaced the valve cover gasket and did the 2 gaskets for the manifold ( upper and lower). Fixed both leaks. Ran good for a few days then noticed when in park the idle would surge about 200 to 300 rpm for about 1 to 2 second durations every 10 to 15 seconds then it would stop for like 10 minutes and then would come back. This didnt affect the driveability of the car just would do this at idle. So i dug around some more and found a small black vacuum hose with a white line severed. This line goes into the firewall at one end and on the other end looks like a small diaphram. Looks like a small egr valve. Anyways spliced back together and damn the car ran really well when i took it for a test drive. Came back let it idle while i was checking on other things and it did it again . Not as often, maybe 2 times in the 15 minute span that