Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

My CrossFire Project

Corvette
84 Z51 auto R.I.P. 89 black roadster SOLD
Mine is sure a loooooong story getting to where it is now...which is currently the engine being pretty much scattered all over the garage! :L What started out as hunting down a vacuum leak and fixing a front main oil leak has evolved into a full cam and head swap. I am going from a hydraulic flat Crane 2050 cam (454/480, .050 specs: dur 216/228, LSA 112, no overlap) and stock ported 76cc heads to a hydraulic roller Edelbrock 2204 (539/548, .050 specs: dur 234/238, LSA 112, 12 deg overlap) and a set of 70cc Edelbrock Performer heads with Crane roller rockers. This is the exact same cam/head combination Edelbrock uses on their EFI crate engine. This will be in combination with the "siamesed" intake manifold that I have been running for a couple of years now.

Just got the cam degreed in last night...and boy did I learn NOT to trust those timing marks! Edelbrock recommends installing the cam with 5 degrees of advance (as most do), with two different crank gears installed "straight up" I measured only 1 degree of advance. I am using the Summit timing chain/gear set...which has three keyways for 0 degrees, 4 degrees advanced, and 4 degrees retarded. With the new set that I got for the hydraulic roller cam (it uses a different cam gear than the flat cam) the crank gear in the +4 position measured 8 degrees of advance instead of the expected 5! There's quality control for ya! I put the old crank gear back on (no difference in the crank gears), same 1 degree of advance when installed "straight up", but the +4 position measures the expected 5 degrees of advance. So now I have to decide on whether to just use the old gear (maybe 20K miles on it) or pitch a ***** with Summit to send me one that is cut correctly (that could be a really long and frustrating process).