Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Rear Window Hatch?

C3L81

Corvette
1981 White vette 24k mi
Hey Guys. Sorry for the stupid question. Im still very new to the corvette world. Anyways I saw a add for a 81 vette in a auto trader mag, and the picture had the rear window open like a hatch. Anyways I thought that the 81's rear hatch didnt open and that didnt start until 82. It could be a misprint (as a 82) or somone tricked it out. None of the 81's rear hatch opened correct? Or is there a secret to opening it? Thanks in advance and sorry for the dumb question :)

nope, to my knowledge there is no 81s that open at the rear hatch... could possibly be a moded 81 w/ 82 hardware, or someone mistaken on the year...

SpartanSith

Correct, the rear window hatch was introduced in 1982. Others have been modified to open, but I don't see why someone would. For all the space behind the seats, it doesn't seem worth the effort to put an opening window in, that you would lave to lean over the car about a foot to access - from the side. And here's hoping it doesn't leak. . . . Just my opinion, I could be wrong.
Craig

I'll just throw my .02 in here and confirm most of what "craig32" & "SpartanSith" have said ;)

The only hatch back window in our body style ... was the 1982 CE BUT... there USED to be a company that sold the aftermarket kit to convert standard 1980 ~ 1982 Corvettes to have the hatch back window.

We have a member from Maryland "NUT" that has a very very rare 1981, it came from the factory with "Primer Paint" the option was called "SPEC" so far it is the only documented "SPEC" 1981 and is documented here at CAC, the L81VetteRegistry and in Mike Antonick's Black Book. NUT's car was also modified for the hatch back window ;)

I met a fellow at the Bowling Green in 2001 during "The Rendezvous" that had a standard 1982 with a factory looking hatch back. He said he bought a wrecked 1982 CE and had the hardware installed on his Charcoal Gray 1982.