Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

reverse lock out

Corvette
78 Pace Car imposter
The reverse lockout does not work on my 78. There is nothing I have to do to move the shifter into, through, or out of, reverse. I almost went from Drive(3) to reverse last year at the drag strip.That would not have been good. In your humble opinion, what would be the most likely culprit. I've never worked on something like this before, so use words of one syllable or less :gap

Unscrew the chrome button on top of the shifter. There should be a spring under it.

Mike

I have had the button off. I needed to replace the boot. There is a spring. The wood knob moves up and down like you would expect it to. However, it is not necessary. I can shift just fine without pulling it up.

pasvorto1 said:
I have had the button off. I needed to replace the boot. There is a spring. The wood knob moves up and down like you would expect it to. However, it is not necessary. I can shift just fine without pulling it up.
What brand shifter is it ... the spring Mikes mentions works with the "T" Lockout mech on the shifter, just under the shifter knob ;) .. it controls a rod that goes in and out of the transmission linkage.

Bud

Edit: Add Shifter Photo, disregard the highlighted parts, that was what was worn out on mine ;)
ShifterParts.jpg

Mine is an automatic. It has a wooden ball with the 25th anniversary logo button in the middle on top.

The shifter is nothing more than a lever that engages a cable that pushes the shift lever on the transmission into the selected gears. Starting at the full forward position, Park, reverse, neutral, Drive, 2, Low.
It is under the console cover on the transmission tunnel and can be accessed by removing the carpet on the driver's side of the transmission tunnel