Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Important! Scraping noise from fear end area, 63 SWC 327/300 4 speed

tmpugel

Corvette
1963 SWC
I have a noise from the rear end that is hard to describe other than a scraping or slapping sound on acceleration in first gear and again on braking. It has drum brakes. The sound seems to be from the rear end not the wheels. Can anyone tell me what is causing this? I am not a mechanic but want to go to one with some knowlege as to where to look. The car is a '63 SWC 327/300hp 4 speed.
Thanks,
Tom

I have a noise from the rear end that is hard to describe other than a scraping or slapping sound on acceleration in first gear and again on braking. It has drum brakes. The sound seems to be from the rear end not the wheels. Can anyone tell me what is causing this? I am not a mechanic but want to go to one with some knowlege as to where to look. The car is a '63 SWC 327/300hp 4 speed.
Thanks,
Tom

Tom if it was only when you brake I would say it it time for new brake shoes but you say it also happens when you accelerate in first gear. I have owned 5 or 6 SWC and I have not a clue what would be making that happen. Sorry wish I could help.

Welcome to the CAC.

Get it up on a lift and visually check for anything obvious. Roll the wheels with the car in neutral and watch and listen for anything out of the norm. It may be easy to spot or you may need to take it to a trusted shop for diagnosis.

Tom

We have a 63 in the shop right now that also had an odd noise when taking off hard. On this car it was the bushings in the center, forward mount. The mount/bracket keeps the axle from rotating on acceleration or brakeing and when the bushing goes bad the center section rotates slightly and can make any nimber of odd noises.