Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Spark plug change bring all sorts of questions!

twoseater

Corvette
1965 Blue Vert, 1980 White Coupe
Hi all - I'm ready to do my first tune up on my '65. Easier said than done! I'm still learning this car as I've only had it for a two months. It has a 327 in it, although to be honest, I have no way of knowing for sure. I know its not the original engine so I can't check the VIN/block etc. I don't see a id on the block as it might have been decked? (Passenger side in front of block by water pump). That area is smooth....

I asked the auto store for a replacement for an R45S which is currently in the car. Although I think they still looked up the year/make of the car. I asked for a Bosch platinum plug and was given #4236.

So, I was about to put em in and decided to compare them. The platinum plug is 5/8" from the top threads to the end. The R45S is only 1/2". I don't know how close plug/piston come so I decided to hold off until I can confirm piston won't meet plug!

I also couldn't find a cross reference from delco to Bosch to verify.

Should I put them in? Also the car was modified from points to Electronic so I'm not sure if I should gap at spec .035 or .045.

Thanks for any help.

I don't consider myself knowledgeable on spark plug equivalents, but I think your car originally called for an AC 44 plug (not R44), and many owners use the slightly hotter 45 plug (not R45) to avoid fouling when the car is primarily used for boulevard cruising. I've also seen posts by owners that use the R45S plug currently in your car, and I've heard it can safely be used in any vintage small block.

GM part 5569992 can also be used as a replacement, and it's available through discount sources, such as gmpartsdirect.com, at a very reasonable price.