Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Tire choices for the C3

Koop

Corvette
YELLOW 69 modified GM Crate ZZ383, LS2 TBSS
Seriously? 3 choices?

BF Goodrich Radial TA
Hooooooosier
Pirelli P600

This is what I can get in 235/60/15? Unless I look at the 245/60/15 then it's the BF Goodrich all by itself.

How old am I anyway?

The three tires you list are all good tires, and will probably give you good service. I would say buy the one you can get the best price on.

However. I hate to say this as it dates me, but I have been using the BFG TA radial on all my cars for more than 40 years. Have only had a problem with one tire, which BFG took care of promptly. I usually got around 40,000 to 50,000 miles use out of a daily driver. I am a BFG tire fan boy.

I have always considered a P235-60 on a stock 7" or 8" wheel to be the largest tire that could be stuffed under a 68-69 body. But the 69 I currently own has a set of custom wheels with P255-60 TA's . The wheels are the Torq Thrust D's, I'm not sure what the back spacing is but they fit and clear the calipers without using spacers

As a caution, use of a 50 series tire on a stock wheel will usually have clearance problems with the trailing arms in the rear.

I wish someone would mass produce the aluminum 80-82 wheels in a 17" size.

Why not- they make snowflakes and honeycomb wheels for Pontiacs. :chuckle

I wish on the 17" reproductions!

I did find a couple of other brands of tires but the reviews aren't so good. So the TA Radial will be it since I can't see vaporizing the P600 at $1,100 for a set. I think the current Pilot's only lasted about 12,000 miles over the past 15 years.

It's tempting to get some American Racing 17" wheels but I like the stock appearance of the car.

It's tempting to get some American Racing 17" wheels but I like the stock appearance of the car.

This is how I feel. I don't like the low profile tire/big wheel look on older Vettes.