Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Tired of trying to diagnose my transmission issues with it leaking.

1red85vette

Hey all, this is my first time posting on this forum. Last summer I bought my first corvette. Since I got it, I’ve been having issues with it leaking badly. I’m 16 so I’m new to doing work like this. If I drove it long enough it would run completely out of fluid, which doesn’t make sense to me because my pan itself isn’t leaking(not a cooler line either.) Again I’m 16 and I’m new to working on cars, but I bought this car specifically to work on and not pay someone else to do the work for me. Well anyway, I replaced the trans filter and gasket. I knew it wasn’t the smartest thing to do, but I connected a 3/8” hose the the ‘sending cooler line’ that went to the radiator and turned the car on to drain the fluid. By doing that I fear I just blew my front seal possibly. Instead of leaking from the gasket onto the splash shield, it’s consistently pouring out of the splash shieldhole. I have a friend who has a shop with a lift and I was wondering if I should even bother replacing the seal, if that’s even the main issue. I don’t think I’ll be able to diagnose it myself, and it’s best left to a professional, but nobody is going to tell me what’s wrong with it and let me repair it myself anyway. I don’t have 1500 for a new transmission until I know for sure mine is blown. So until then I want to keep trying. Any way to further diagnose it without taking it out? Again it leaks fluid like crazy upon startup. Thanks for any and all help. Happy new year.

It's not uncommon for the front seal to start leaking on a older transmission, Don't run it dry though, Catastrophic Damage will result!

Welcome to CAC !:CAC

Last edited:
U TUBE ,I use it quite a bit to get at least a idea of what is involved etc. Ya have a 700r4 trans in your vette BTW.so heres 1 vid of many on it.
YouTube

Welcome to CAC!!!!