Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Want feedback on C3 "Bumpsteer Kits"

Craig1979

Corvette
1979 L82
Looking for user feedback on the C3 Bumpsteer Kits offered by either Guldstrand Motorsports or Vette Brakes & Products.
Anyone have first hand knowledge/experience installing one of these kits?? and the improvement to vehicle steering??

I have no experience with this kit but alot of experience removing pump steer from C3's. I make my own kit.
That kit to me is very expensive, does only a little and increases your turning radius.
Parking will be harder.
A quick improvement but by no means eliminating bump is just dropping the outer tie rod with a 1 inch spacer.
I use 5/8th heim/rod ends and 16 mm bolts. A 5/8th heim joint fit with a 5/8th bolt has about .012 slop. A 16 mm bolt is about .001 too big so a little polishing with emery paper and it fits with no clearance.
I will grab a picture or two and add to the post.
To totally remove bump you need 3 inch longer tie rod sleeves, drop the outer tie rod about 2 inches and shorten the cross link the matching 3 inches per side.
I will just post some pictures.

This is the bump block I welded and screwed to the outer tie rod location. It is welded and bolted to the steering arm and a 5/8th heim joint was used.
bumpblock.jpg

This is a modified drag link with 4 different mounting points. The stock one plus 3 extra's that are also higher. I ended up after testing using the link hole 2 inches longer then stock.
Sorry for the large size but I don't want to downsize it.
draglink.jpg

This is a proper sway bar link. It will not bind regardless of suspension travel. Stock ones using bushing or donuts run into bind, bend the through bolt and are not too easily adjusted.
Sorry agian for the large picture
link2.jpg

NORVALWILHELM:
Wow those are some big pictures.

In the first photo I'm sure you modified both spindle steering arm to be mirror images of each other.