Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Fiberglass repairs glass versus mat? where do you get your supplies?

firstgear

Corvette
15 Z06, 01 Vert, 63 SWC & 60 ALL RED
After talking to a vendor about fixing my body and painting the car, I have decided, the heck with them, I will tackle this myself! Like so many things on the car, I have never done this before, so it should be quite interesting....

first things first....I need some pointers on technique, books and where to get the supplies for the fiberglass repairs and such. Is there a particular brand that you think is better than others?

I have a crack that runs from the passenger wheel well opening up the side and across the top of the fender. It looks like this as cracked and repaired before.

Since I am not making the car NCRS....actually a long ways from that, I was thinking of putting some reinforcing pieces (C-channel that can be proset in place) that would run the length of the fender. Anyone have thoughts on that?

your comments will be appreciated.....by the way, I decided this after the guy I talked to gave me a quote of $25-30k.....

Some other people suggested hiring someone for 1/2 a day or so and working with them so that I get a good idea of technique and process, which isn't a bad idea and will probably do!

Herb

Herb the easey answer is

Eastwood sells the stuff you want along with ecklers and all of the local auto parts stores by me.

The long answer is, If I was you I would put this problem aside for now. The problem is just not repairing the crack but also repainting the repair.

Your in a funney part of a car build where its easy to get lost,side tracked.

Get the car bak together and driveable then worry about getting it fixed.

We all have heard the horror stories of cars getting lost in a restoration shop for month/years

Herb the easey answer is

Eastwood sells the stuff you want along with ecklers and all of the local auto parts stores by me.