Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Question: 2009 C6 changing out wheels

Corvette
2009 C-6 jet stream blue coupe
Hello guys first poster here! I was hoping for some help or some advice on an issue I'm having with my vette.

I have a 2009 C6 and just recently bought some black wheel from an OEM website. They are supposed to be just like stock wheels, ect. But after I changed out the wheels at the wheel shop and got the spin and balance done I take the car out and the steering and control is not nearly as tight and shakes pretty good when I get up to about 80-90 MPH. The steering wheel shakes a lot at these speeds.

I was wondering if there was something else I was supposed to be doing if I changed out the wheels like this. I'm a Corvette noob and would love some feed back about this! Thanks guys! Here's some pics of my ride! :) ImageUploadedByTapatalk1352780086.645221.jpg this is before and this one is after...ImageUploadedByTapatalk1352780125.819434.jpg ImageUploadedByTapatalk1352780159.902606.jpg

Can't speak for the wheel quality but I'm thinking the balence is way off somehow. Did you have the alignment checked front and rear? How is the tire wear? Take it back and have them rebalence them. I recently had to do that also.

Welcome to the CAC.....!

The wobble could be a number of things, but start with a careful dynamic balance. Because you have had an issue, the shop should also match the wheels and tires. That involves moving the tire around the wheel until the combination is as round as possible...matching the wheel low spot with the tire high spot. In rare cases, that's an issue. As far as control issues at high speeds, that may take care of itself if the wobble goes away. If not, look at the tires, and check alignment.

Last edited:
Thanks for the replies guys! I did take it back to them a week later and explained the problem and had them rebalance the wheels and tires again. Didn't change anything....